top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRandal Gritzner

Found in Space: But Who Are You?

Updated: Oct 10, 2023

Book 1 - An expansion mission leaves Earth in the year 2673. A perfect launch is followed by problems. The Scotts and Browns handle multiple surprising situations, some of them with life-and-death circumstances. How long will their luck continue?


Book 2 - My comrades and I thought that we had lost contact with Earth permanently. On September 8, 2673, NASA regains contact with us via light-warp communication. General Campbell learns of our progress with a group of hunter-gatherers that we found, and he is very impressed. Now he has a new mission for us. Most aliens that we have met are friendly, but not all of them.


Book 3 - Olivia, Zok, and I have never laughed so hard in our lives. He has been the one sending “Silly Human” messages to us all this time. We hugged, then Zok said that he has a message for us, “I have now examined and investigated you two and the Browns and reported back to my superiors on my home planet. They wish greatly to have you come visit our planet and teach us about your ways. We have never experienced such compassion, honesty, and other good character traits. Will you four please come with me to visit planet Burbank?”

“I have some questions for you first!” I exclaimed, “Why did you freeze our motion and fly our ship around for a week, changing directions 12 times to get us totally lost?”


Book 4 - Dr. Amelia Brown handed JJ to Dr. Sebastian Brown to be cleaned up. Amelia and I comforted Olivia on doing a wonderful job in delivering a perfect, healthy baby boy.

“There’s something we need to tell you about JJ,” Amelia said.

“Is he okay?” Olivia shouted. “He is more than okay,” Amelia said.

“He weighed in at 14 pounds,” Sebastian said, “Your son has special powers, and we need to identify them!”This could be challenging!


Book 5 - While Olivia was performing an orbital scan, a new call came in from Chief Avogadro. “Greetings RADML Scott,” the Chief said, “Have you landed on JOSSAB yet?” “We’re doing an orbital scan of JOSSAB at the moment, and plan to land in 5 minutes.” . . . “Perhaps you noticed that my wife and I have had some uncomfortable conversations with our daughter lately,” the Chief added. “I noticed,” I replied, “I figured that it was none of my business.” “It is now,” the Chief replied. “How so?”“I believe that Anna and her boyfriend, Gregg, have stowed away on your ship!”the Chief answered. Now what do we do?


Book 6 - JJ finally graduated from Texas A&M University. He now has a master’s degree in business administration (MBA). Not bad for an 8-year-old! He also graduated as Valedictorian for his bachelor’s degree and his master’s degree.

JJ has gained so much notoriety and acclaim for his accomplishments at Texas A&M University, that he now has corporations from Earth competing for the opportunity to hire him. Olivia and I don’t want to push him into such an incredibly important decision. The most he’s said about that so far is, “I’m thinking about it.”


Book 7 - I called Divine on a video chat. Life without her smile is not a quality of life that I want to live. After our initial greetings, I asked her to gather her brother and her parents behind her so I can see their reactions when I give her my Christmas present. That took almost a minute because their apartment isn’t very big. As soon as they were all present, I pulled a small jewelry box out of my pocket, opened it to display a beautiful engagement ring, got down on one knee and asked, “Divine Ali, will you please make me the happiest 10 ½ year old boy in the universe and marry me?”


Book 8 - A couple minutes later, Divine and I checked every device we have. Her portable device, my portable device, and our ship’s control panel all read August 27, 2686! “Divine! We have just come out of that time warp 3 days before we left Gitega!” I shouted, “We can now take President Irakoze down, without stepping foot on the same continent with him. It’s time to contact the U.S. Armed Forces, via Alexandra Cisneros, and Eustache Munezero!” Divine’s smile even indicates that she believes in me again! Oh what a scrumptious hug she is giving me!


Book 9 - “I thought you would be happy about this,” Amelia replied, “You have been married for 2 ½ years.” “We will most definitely love our child mercilessly,” I answered, “However, we chose not to have a baby until Divine graduates from college and teaches for 2 years, perhaps 1.” “We have kept completely up-to-date on our birth control, and we opted for the physician-administered form,” Divine said, “How often does 27th century birth control fail to perform its task?” “This will be the first time, if you indeed have not missed a dosage,” Dr. Amelia answered, “However, remember that JJ has experienced enhanced development. It appears that his sperm cells are more powerful than we expected!”


Book 10 - “What is that big, funneled tube-looking thing?” I shouted. “It’s a wormhole!” Grey answered, “It’s a shortcut in spacetime to a place far from here!” “It’s a shortcut to where?” “I don’t know, but I’m hoping it’s a better place than here. We’ll figure it’s location out later! Just follow me!”


Book 11 - “I do need to discuss your next mission with you,” Alexandra continued, “My colleagues and I have decided to send you on a mission of a very different type. The sensitivity of this mission does not allow me to get into the details quite yet. We’ll need to discuss that on our next meeting in January.”


Book 12 - "Your next mission is to investigate a different asteroid near 16 Psyche. We hope to find a few more asteroids to be mined by other countries. The U.S. is far more technologically advanced than any other country today, and we plan to lead by example. Hoarding all asteroid mining resources is one option, but we have chosen to help our colleague countries. This offer has been received most appreciatively by multiple countries. Your team will do the space exploration, and our U.S. politicians can decide which country gets access to which asteroid.”


Book 13 - Alexandra Cisneros called, and she sounded more stressed than I have ever experienced. “I realize that you folks have only found 1 inhabitable planet plus 1 planet that could become good friends, but it’s time for you folks to return to Earth,” she said, “Something has come up, and I need you for a mission like you have never been on before. Special preparations need to be made! An alien has landed near Washington D.C. on a mission to study humans, and we really need your help in dealing with him!”

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page